19 SEC Teams to Compete in NCAA Tennis Championships

19 SEC Teams to Compete in NCAA Tennis Championships

4 hours ago

Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (May 1, 2023) – The NCAA Division I Men’s & Women’s Tennis Subcommittees have selected the 128 teams (64 men, 64 women) that will compete in the 2023 NCAA Division I Men’s & Women’s Tennis Championships. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship.

The Southeastern Conference had a total of 19 teams receive bids. The 10 men’s teams in the field are Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas A&M. The nine women’s teams are Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, LSU, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas A&M and Vanderbilt.

The Kentucky men’s team earned the No. 4 seed, while the Texas A&M women were named the No. 2 seed.

All matches are regulation dual matches with three doubles matches consisting of six-game sets played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point; played the best of three sets. No-ad scoring is used and a seven-point tiebreaker (first to seven points, must win by two points) is played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

During the championships, doubles matches are stopped after the doubles point is decided and individual matches are stopped once a team winner (four points won) has been determined. The score will only reflect completed matches.

First- and second-round competition takes place May 5-8. They feature four teams playing in a single-elimination format with the winner of each site advancing to super-regional competition May 12-14. Each super-regional site will feature two teams playing a single-elimination format. The super-regional winners advance to the USTA National Campus in Orlando, Fla., where the eight teams will compete for the national championship May 17-20.

Each first-and second-round site will set its own schedule.


South Carolina State at South Carolina

Belmont at Tennessee

Ole Miss vs. VCU (Charlottesville, Va.)

Auburn vs. Cornell (Durham, N.C.)

Presbyterian at Kentucky

Florida vs. Oklahoma State (Tucson, Ariz.)

Florida Gulf Coast at Georgia

LSU vs. California (Ann Arbor, Mich.)

Alabama State at Mississippi State

Texas A&M vs. SMU (Fort Worth, Texas)


South Carolina vs. Old Dominion (Chapel Hill, N.C.)

North Florida at Florida

Arkansas vs. Washington (Norman, Okla.)

Florida A&M at Georgia

Auburn vs. FIU (Miami, Fla.)

LSU vs. Wisconsin (Ames, Iowa)

Vanderbilt vs. East Tennessee State (Columbus, Ohio)

Southeast Missouri State at Tennessee

Quinnipiac at Texas A&M

Check Also

Bronny James Lakers pic

JJ Redick believes Bronny James could develop into Lu Dort

One of the biggest storylines coming out of the 2024 NBA Draft was not the …

Leave a Reply