Monday , November 29 2021

Capital snubbed as World Cup venues unveiled

The men’s Twenty20 World Cup has only just wrapped up, but we’re already only 12 months away from another one.

Australia will host the tournament from October 16 next year, in a postponed version of the competition that was meant to run in 2020.

The Aussies will now get the chance to defend their T20 title on their home soil, having beaten New Zealand in the final yesterday morning (AEDT) to win the UAE event.

READ MORE: Papali’i rejects huge Dolphins offer

The ICC today announced venues for next year’s World Cup.

Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, and Sydney will host the 45 games.

Kiwis presser interrupted by celebrating Aussies

READ MORE: Kyrgios says 2022 Australian Open should be cancelled

READ MORE: Scottie Pippen says Michael Jordan ‘ruined basketball’

Kardinia Park in Geelong has won the right to host the World Cup while Canberra, the nation’s capital city, has been snubbed. It also means Victoria is the only state to have two World Cup venues, while the ACT and Northern Territory miss out altogether.

Melbourne’s iconic Cricket Ground (MCG) will host the tournament final on November 13. It packed more than 80,000 fans into the stadium for last year’s women’s World Cup final, which the Aussies won.

A full fixture will be revealed and tickets will go on sale in January.

For a daily dose of the best of the breaking news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!

About admin

Check Also

Warne swings axe in brutal Ashes selection call

Cricket legend Shane Warne has once again criticised the form of fast bowler Mitchell Starc …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.