Monday , July 26 2021
Nine from SEC in NCAA Baseball Tournament

Nine from SEC in NCAA Baseball Tournament

5 hours ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Arkansas Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (May 31, 2021)—–A nation-leading nine Southeastern Conference teams have been selected to compete for the 2021 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, according to an announcement Monday by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee. Four teams from the SEC – Arkansas, Tennessee, Vanderbilt and Mississippi State – were selected among the top seven national seeds. The SEC led all conferences with six national seeds.

The top eight national seeds in order are Arkansas, Texas, Tennessee, Vanderbilt, Arizona, TCU, Mississippi State and Texas Tech. Seeds 9-16 in order are Stanford, Notre Dame, Old Dominion, Ole Miss, East Carolina, Oregon, Florida and Louisiana Tech.

SEC schools earning bids include Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee and Vanderbilt. At least nine SEC teams have earned NCAA Tournament bids in each of the last three tournaments.

The SEC tied its record with seven teams named as regional hosts. Arkansas, Florida, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee and Vanderbilt were among 16 regional hosts announced on Sunday. Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be played Friday, June 4 to Monday, June 7 (if necessary).

The 74th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 19, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.

The 2021 Division 1 Baseball Championship Official Bracket can be accessed here.

About admin

Check Also

The Big Lead

Deshaun Watson is Available But the Houston Texans Shouldn’t Wait By the Phone

The partnership between Deshaun Watson and the Houston Texans has been terrible for several months, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.