Monday , March 8 2021

Why Patrick Mahomes won SN NFL Offensive Player of the Year over Derrick Henry, Aaron Rodgers

Patrick Mahomes has been voted Sporting Information Offensive Participant of the Yr for the second time in three years. He was the bulk alternative amongst his fellow NFL gamers, including 2020 to his victory in 2018, when he was additionally named NFL MVP.

Given the Chiefs’ quarterback did not have the unquestioned standout statistical brilliance normally hooked up with OPOY, it is perhaps a shock. Mahomes (four,740 yards passing, 38 TDs, six INTs, eight.1 yards per try, 108.2 passer ranking) was particular and effectively deserving in his personal proper, however contemplate the very fact he beat out each Titans working again Derrick Henry and Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers for the award.

Henry rushed for two,027 yards and 17 touchdowns. He turned solely the eighth participant in NFL historical past to join the 2,000-yard club.

Rodgers arguably had his finest passing season at age 37 (four,299 yards, 48 TDs, 5 INTs, 9.6 yards per try, 121.5 passer ranking). Apart from yardage, he was each extra prolific and extra environment friendly than Mahomes.

However Mahomes edging Henry and ending with a strong lead over Rodgers means that Mahomes has a legendary presence amongst his friends. He is regarded because the league’s most intimidating offensive power — not Henry — and perceived as the very best QB within the league, interval — not Rodgers.

Full voting results | All-Pro Team

Henry is not alone in dashing for two,000-plus yards and never successful SN OPOY. Eric Dickerson misplaced to Dan Marino in 1984. Each Jamal Lewis (2003) and Chris Johnson (2009) misplaced to Peyton Manning, who received 5 instances in his profession. Adrian Peterson received in 2012, however he was the final working again to take action. In any other case we have seen 13 quarterbacks win SN OPOYs in 14 years, together with Manning, Brady, Rodgers, Cam Newton, Mahomes and Lamar Jackson.

It is commonplace for the NFL MVP (the “official” Related Press model) to not additionally win SN OPOY. Simply in 2016, Brady beat out Matt Ryan for SN OPOY. In 2001, Marshall Faulk was SN OPOY whereas Rams teammate Kurt Warner was MVP.

NFL gamers do not get to see each prime offensive participant on the sector. They do not look a lot at numbers or break down all the things in making such a call. They merely take a look at a man who at all times performs at a excessive degree and a man they do not need to play in a sport they need to win. They went with the reigning finest NFL participant on the NFL’s finest workforce. There’s nothing unsuitable with that.

Coaches had the identical respect for Mahomes, simply voting to make him the first-team QB on SN’s All-Professional workforce over Rodgers, too. In lots of earlier SN OPOY votes, Manning or Brady had been so good for therefore lengthy, they saved getting acknowledged for fame. In simply three seasons of beginning within the NFL, it is unbelievable Mahomes already has gained that degree of award-winning respect across the league.

About admin

Check Also

Mourinho praises Spurs after reaching 100 goals this season

Mourinho praises Spurs after reaching 100 goals this season

Gareth Bale and Harry Kane scored two each as Mourinho’s side climbed to sixth place …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.