Alabama leads coaches' preseason All-SEC picks

SEC Football bowl assignments

7 days ago
SEC Staff

Photo: Stacy Revere | Getty Images

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama — Nine Southeastern Conference football teams have learned their postseason bowl destinations, including No. 4-ranked Alabama, which will face Michigan in the Rose Bowl presented by Prudential, a College Football Playoff semifinal game on Monday, January 1.

In other New Year’s Six Games, Georgia will participate in the Capital One Orange Bowl against ACC champion Florida State, Missouri will play Ohio State in the Goodyear Cotton Bowl and Ole Miss will play Penn State in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.

On Sunday, the College Football Playoff committee first selected teams for the national semifinal games, the Rose Bowl presented by Prudential and the Allstate Sugar Bowl. The committee later announced the participants in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, the VRBO Fiesta Bowl, Capital One Orange Bowl and Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic.

Next, the Cheez-It Citrus Bowl in Orlando selected Tennessee from the SEC to play Iowa of the Big Ten.

This marks the tenth year the Conference has assigned league schools to an “SEC Bowl Pool” that includes six postseason games. The SEC Bowl Pool includes the TaxAct Texas Bowl in Houston, the TransPerfect Music City Bowl in Nashville, the AutoZone Liberty Bowl in Memphis, the TaxSlayer Gator Bowl in Jacksonville, the Reliaquest Bowl in Tampa and the Duke’s Mayo Bowl in Charlotte. In alternating years, the SRS Distribution Las Vegas Bowl replaced the Duke’s Mayo Bowl in the SEC Bowl Pool.

Texas A&M will play in the TaxAct Texas Bowl in Houston, Kentucky will play in the TaxSlayer Gator Bowl in Jacksonville, Auburn will play in the TransPerfect Music City Bowl in Nashville and LSU will play in the Reliaquest Bowl in Tampa.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL PLAYOFF BOWLS

Goodyear Cotton Bowl (Arlington) – Missouri vs. Ohio State – Dec. 29 – 8 pm ET / 7 pm CT – ESPN

Capital One Orange Bowl (Miami) – Georgia vs. Florida State – Dec. 30 – 4 pm ET / 3 pm CT – ESPN

Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl (Atlanta) – Ole Miss vs. Penn State – Dec. 30 – Noon ET / 11 am CT – ESPN

Rose Bowl presented by Prudential (Pasadena) – Alabama vs. Michigan – Jan. 1 – 5 pm ET / 4 pm CT – ESPN

SEC-AFFILIATED BOWLS

TaxAct Texas Bowl (Houston) – Texas A&M vs. Oklahoma State – Dec. 27 – 9 pm ET / 8 pm CT – ESPN

TaxSlayer Gator Bowl (Jacksonville) – Kentucky vs. Clemson – Dec. 29 – 12 pm ET / 11 am CT – ESPN

TransPerfect Music City Bowl (Nashville) – Auburn vs. Maryland – Dec. 30 – 2 pm ET / 1 pm CT – ABC

Reliaquest Bowl (Tampa) – LSU vs. Wisconsin – Jan. 1 – Noon ET / 11 am CT – ESPN2

Cheez-It Citrus Bowl (Orlando) – Tennessee vs. Iowa – Jan. 1 – 1 pm ET / Noon CT – ABC

The SEC Bowl Pool participants are determined after conversations with bowl partners and discussions with school personnel in order to create a lineup of compelling bowl games. This process, as approved by the institutions of the SEC, provides an opportunity to create intriguing matchups and varying assignments to help prevent repetitive postseason destinations. Because four SEC teams were selected to play in the CFP’s New Year’s Six bowl games, only four of the SEC Bowl Pool games will include SEC schools.

Check Also

JaMarr Chase and Tee Higgins pic

Ja'Marr Chase and Tee Higgins did not report to the start of voluntary OTA's

In 2023, the Cincinnati Bengals finished 9-8. They just narrowly missed out on a postseason …

Leave a Reply